mamazoya

Recording the journey…and knitting

Boo Boo Buddy! March 21, 2012

Recently Gavin bumped his leg and wanted a bag of ice for it.  All I could do to protect his skin from the ice was to clumsily wrap the bag in a towel.  I was not happy with the situation and truthfully neither was Gavin.  Searching for a better solution, I came up with my little Boo Boo Buddy.

I came up with the pattern my self.  I takes less then a skein of cotton yarn and son odds and ends.  When all made up, just slip the bag of ice inside and snap close.

A bag to hold ice packs or ice cubes for the application of ice to boo boos!

By Jessica King

This is a design by Jessica King, please don’t replicate, or copy this instruction sheet to sell (any duplications for personal use is fine) or sell the final product with out permission. Please contact Mamazoya at Ravelry for questions or permission.

Supplies:

*Cotton yarn-I used Lily Sugar ‘n Cream. Less then ½ a skein was used, so could be really good for using up scraps

*Size 7 American needles

*Three or so sew on snaps, I used size 1

*embellishments; scraps of fabric, buttons, embroidery floss, other scrap yarns, sewing , yarn and embroidery needles.

Gauge is not important!

To make the bag:

Cast on 45 stitches, knit even until the piece measures 6 inches. Next row, bind off 22 stitches, knit to end. Next row, bind off one, knit to end. Knit even for about 3.5 to 4 inches bind off.

This is up to you now! I suggest adding embellishments before sewing the bag closed, I also would not embellish the back. Try adding ears or paws or what ever to make your Boo Boo Buddy yours!

Once everything is on, sew up the sides of the bag and the bottom. Sew on snaps, I sewed on the “male” part first, rubbed a pencil on the snap bump and rubbed the bump on the corresponding side to accurately place the “female” side of the snap.

Now your buddy is ready to use! If using just ice cubes, place them in a resealable plastic bag.

I would love to see what you come up with!

Link to the Ravelry down load

 

Leave a Reply

