mamazoya

Recording the journey…and knitting

Dish cloths June 22, 2011

Filed under: Craft,Knitting — mamazoya @ 6:22 pm
Tags: , ,

I absolutely love home-made dish cloths.  I find they are are absorbent, have better scrubbing powers and last longer!  They quick to knit up and are  as simple or complex as you want to make them.  Here are some of my favorites I have made.

This dish cloth was made for Tim’s Aunt Nancy.

This Trio of cloths are for my newlywed Sister.  I hope she loves them too!

Cloths can be whimsical too, like this one Gavin requested! TARDIS.

unfortunately a lot of the cloths I have made have not been recorded.  Who records the mundane and utilitarian.  How much more interesting would it be if we knew and understood even these things throughout history.  Our foremothers always strived to put beauty into the everyday things and because they were used, reused, then reused till they literally were no longer useable, we don’t know of these things.  They simply did not survive and went undocumented do to their utilitarian nature. I will do my best to record all my crafted items, no matter how mundane or how utilitarian.

 

 

Leave a Reply

